Cultural Commission-Banner-788x100 copy copy

Cultural Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The Cultural Commission acts in an advisory capacity to the City Council in matters pertaining to the enhancement of multi-cultural experiences and beautification of the City through art. The Commission makes recommendations to the City Council on programs/activities to encourage educational, cultural, sports, technical and governmental exchanges to help acquaint citizens of Santa Clara with cultural diversity here and abroad.

The Commission also recommends potential City-funding and support for community cultural groups, organizes some City cultural events, and makes recommendations to the City Council on the purchase and placement of public art. It also makes recommendations on the City’s international exchanges, working closely with the Santa Clara Sister Cities Association and other supportive groups.

It organizes cultural events and activities, such as the annual Summer Concerts in the Park series, the biennial Indoor Sculpture Exhibition, the Franklin Square Street Dance, and the Friday Night Live performances. It also develops international people-to-people contacts designed to enhance cultural exchanges, communication and understanding with special emphasis on encouraging and coordinating activities with Santa Clara's three sister cities: Coimbra, Portugal, Izumo, Japan and Limerick, Ireland.

The Cultural Commission consists of Commissioners that are volunteers and are appointed by the City Council. To be eligible, you must be a registered voter and resident of Santa Clara, and may not hold any paid office in, or be employed by, the City of Santa Clara. For details call the City Clerk's office at (408) 615-2220. The Cultural Commission may also be contacted by email at 

Halloween Home Decorating Contest:

How does it work?
  1. All City residents are encouraged to decorate the front yards and/or exterior of apartment, condominium, house and townhouse in Halloween-themed décor. 
  2. Applications to enter the decorating contest must be completed online no later than Thursday, Oct. 24, 2019, by 8 p.m.
  3. To enter, please see form below this information
  4. Three winners will be selected to be awarded in three (3) categories – 1) Scariest; 2) Most Original; and 3) People’s Choice. 
    1. You can only enter into one category.
    2. Entries will be accepted between Oct. 9 to Oct. 24
    3. For People’s Choice award, the winner will be based on the most likes of the photo from the Halloween Home Decorating Contest Facebook Photo Album. The Facebook Album will be posted on Friday, Oct. 25, 2019.
Contest Rules 
  1. You must be a City of Santa Clara resident.
  2. Contest is only for residential properties (apartments, condominium, house and townhouse). Judging is based on decorations of the exterior of residence only.
  3. Judging will take place after the closing of the contest on Thursday, Oct. 24, 2019.
What do we win? 
  1. Winners will be announced on Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2019, and will be notified by phone and email that they have been selected. 
  2. Winners will receive decorative yard signs to display on their yards, acknowledging their award. Signs will be available for pick up on Oct. 31, 2019, from the Community Recreation Center, 969 Kiely Blvd., between the hours of 8 a.m. - 8 p.m. 
  3. Winners will be acknowledged at a future City Council Meeting. Photos of winning homes will be featured on City of Santa Clara social media. 
  4. We ask that the winners send a photo of themselves with their sign in front of their residence.

Questions? Call the Community Recreation Center, 408-615-3140 or email 

Please correct the field(s) marked in red below:

Email Address
First Name
Last Name
Street Address
Is this a stand-alone House, Townhome or Apartment/Condo? 
Link to Video
Link to Photo
Which Competition(s) would you like to enter?
I understand that these submissions will be viewed by the City's appointed judges and may be used by the City of Santa Clara for promotional and review purposes including the Homeowner Address and Name. 
  1. To receive a copy of your submission, please fill out your email address below and submit.

    Holiday Home Decorating Contest:

    Please check back in December for details on the 2019 Holiday Home Decorating contest. 

    Cultural Commission Monthly Meetings

    • Meets: Generally meets on the 1st Monday of each month at 7:00 pm
    • Place: Senior Center- Room 231,1303 Fremont Street
    • City Staff Liaison: Parks & Recreation– 408-615-3140

    Commission Members

    Teresa Sulcer

    Term Expires: June 30, 2023
    (First Term)


    Louis Samara 2017 1 Louis Samara

    Term Expires: June 30, 2022
    (First Term)


    Harbir K. Bhatia Harbir K. Bhatia

    Term Expires: June 30, 2020
    (First Term)


    Niha Mathur 2018Niha Mathur

    Term Expires: June 30, 2021
    (First Term)



    Debi von HueneDebra von Huene

    Term Expires: June 30, 2023 
    (First Term)


    Jonathan Marinaro 2018Jonathan Marinaro

    Term Expires: June 30, 2021
    (Partial Term)



    Candida - CCCandida Diaz

    Term Expires: June 30, 2020
    (Partial Term)


    11/04/2019 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM Not Included
    12/02/2019 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM Not Included
    View Full Site