Skip to page body Home Residents Business Goverment Services About

Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission is charged with the duty of ensuring that qualified persons are appointed to the service of the City. The Commission acts as Board of Review to hear petitions by civil service employees and applicants for civil service positions, and to grant or deny those petitions.

The five Commission members are volunteers and are appointed by the City Council. They must be registered voters and residents of the City of Santa Clara and may not hold any paid office of, or be employed by, the City of Santa Clara. For details call the City Clerk's office at (408) 615-2220. The Civil Service Commission may also be contacted by email at

Meets: Generally meets on the 2nd Monday, every other month - 7:00 pm
Place: City Hall - Council Chambers, 1500 Warburton Avenue
City Staff Liaison: Tina Murphy, Assistant Director of Human Resources: (408) 615-2080

Commission Members
 Mario Bouza Mario Bouza
Term Expires: June 30, 2016
(First Term)
 Fran A. Palacio Fran A. Palacio
Term Expires: June 30, 2015
(Second Term)
 Brian Doyle Brian Doyle
Term Expires: June 30, 2017
(First Term)
 Pat Staffelbach Pat Staffelbach 
Term Expires: June 30, 2018
(First Term)
 Andrew Kristalyn Andrew Kristalyn
Term Expires: June 30, 2015
(Second Term)


View Upcoming Meetings