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NUMBER: 2020-10 DATE: 03-26-20 BY: Devallis Rutledge TOPIC: Receiving Stolen Vehicles

ISSUE: Is the offense of receiving a stolen vehicle valued at $950 or less a Proposition
47 misdemeanor, or a felony “wobbler?”

When Proposition 47 made most theft offenses of property valued at $950 or less
misdemeanors, it also amended PC § 496(a), now making the buying, receiving, concealing,
selling or withholding of known-stolen property valued at $950 or less a misdemeanor. The
California Supreme Court has held that this reduction also applies to theft-based convictions
under VC § 10851. People v. Page (2017) 3 Cal.5" 1175, 1187.

PC 8§ 496d separately makes buying, receiving, concealing, selling or withholding
vehicles (or certain trailers or motorized construction equipment or vessels) a felony
‘wobbler.” Two appellate decisions previously ruled that although Proposition 47 did not
specifically address this section, its misdemeanor reduction provisions should also apply to 8§
496d, making this crime a misdemeanor for low-value vehicles. People v. Williams (2018) 23
Cal.App.5" 641; People v. Wehr (2019) 41 Cal.App.5" 123. These two decisions and their
rationale have now been disapproved by the California Supreme Court.

e Ernest Orozco pled guilty to a felony violation of PC 8§ 496d, and later sought a
reduction to misdemeanor under Proposition 47’s provisions related to 8 496(a). A unanimous
California Supreme Court pointed out that the $950 limit could not always fit the crime of
receiving stolen vehicles, because stolen vehicles are often dismantled and their parts sold
for more money than the vehicle itself might have been worth on the open market. And the
court held that the clear language of the proposition supported neither Orozco’s contention

nor the rulings in Williams and Wehr:
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“Proposition 47 amended section 496(a) to require receipt of stolen
property worth $950 or less to be punished as a misdemeanor. It did not add a
similar provision to section 496d. Section 496d remains the same as it was
prior to the enactment of Proposition 47. It makes no reference to a value
threshold below which receipt of a stolen vehicle must be punished as a
misdemeanor. ...

“We hold that Proposition 47’s amendment to section 496(a) did not affect
convictions for receiving stolen property [vehicles, trailers, etc.] under section
496d. ... We disapprove People v. Wehr and People v. Williams to the extent
they are inconsistent with this opinion.”

People v. Orozco (2020) _ Cal.5™ | S249495, Slip opn. at 5, 13, 11.

(Emphasis added; citations omitted.)

BOTTOM LINE: The crime of receiving a stolen vehicle under PC 8§ 496d was not
affected by Proposition 47, so it remains a felony “wobbler” offense, regardless of the
value of the vehicle.

This information was current as of publication date. It is not intended as legal advice. It is
recommended that readers check for subsequent developments, and consult legal advisors to ensure
currency after publication. Local policies and procedures regarding application should be observed.




