City of Santa Clara

City Clerk History, 1852-Present

1852: July 24: The first Santa Clara town government was formed and the first town meeting was held. A five-member Board of Trustees conducted the first meeting. The first City Clerk was C. W. Adams.

January 1927: A. J. Cronin was Town Clerk (in Charter)

April 1927: City Clerk became elected

1952: A. J. Cronin still City Clerk

1953: Charter Amendment: City Clerk to be elected

1968: November Election- City Clerk to be elected – 4 year terms

November 1983: Judy Boccignone elected City Clerk

November 2004: Judy Boccignone retires

November 2004: Rod Diridon, Jr. elected City Clerk

November 2008: Rod Diridon, Jr. re-elected City Clerk

November 2012: Rod Diridon, Jr. re-elected City Clerk

November 2016: Rod Diridon, Jr. re-elected City Clerk

February 2018: Rod Diridon, Jr resigns

February 2018: Jennifer Yamaguma, Appointed Acting City Clerk

October 2018: Nadine Nader, Appointed Acting City Clerk (with J. Yamaguma resignition)

November 2018: Hosam Haggag, elected Partial (2 year) Term

November 2020: Hosam Haggag, re-elected Full (4 year) City Clerk