

# Who is running for Santa Clara City Council?

## November 5, 2024 General Municipal Election

The following candidates have filed a Form 501 Candidate Intention Statement with the City of Santa Clara Office of the City Clerk and have been issued nomination papers.

A candidate does not qualify for the ballot until Nomination Papers have been filed with the Assistant City Clerk and signatures have been verified as sufficient by the Registrar of Voters Office.

## For Chief of Police - one 4-year term ending 2028

		Nomination	Nomination	
Name	Form 501 Filed	Papers Issued	Papers Submitted	Qualified
Cory B. Morgan	6/14/2024	7/15/2024	8/5/2024	8/6/2024
Mario J. Brasil	8/1/2024	8/1/2024	8/9/2024	8/9/92024

#### FOR CITY CLERK – one 4-year term ending 2028

		Nomination Nomination		
Name	Form 501 Filed	Papers Issued	Papers Submitted	Qualified
Bob O'Keefe	7/29/2024	7/29/2024	8/5/2024	8/5/2024
Paul Tacci	8/8/2024	8/5/2024	8/9/2024	8/9/2024
Poornima Gopi	8/6/2024	8/6/2024	8/9/2024	8/9/2024
Steve Kelly	8/6/2024	8/6/2024	8/9/2024	8/9/2024

## FOR CITY COUNCIL DISTRICT 1 – one 4-year term ending 2028

		Nomination	Nomination	
Name	Form 501 Filed	Papers Issued	Papers Submitted	Qualified
Satish Chandra	5/1/2024	7/18/2024	7/30/2024	7/31/2024
Harbir K. Bhatia	7/19/2024	7/19/2024	8/2/2024	8/5/2024
Albert Gonzalez	7/24/2024	7/24/204	8/6/2024	8/7/2024

#### FOR CITY COUNCIL DISTRICT 4 – one 4-year term ending 2028

Name	Form 501 Filed	Nomination Papers Issued	Nomination Papers Submitted	Qualified
Teresa O'Neill	7/16/2024	7/29/2024	8/6/2024	8/7/2024

#### FOR CITY COUNCIL DISTRICT 5 – one 4-year term ending 2028

Name	Form 501 Filed	Nomination Papers Issued	Nomination Papers Submitted	Qualified
David Kertes	7/15/2024	7/15/2024	8/5/2024	8/5/2024
Deborah M. Cordova Withdrew – 8/9/2024	7/23/2024	7/23/2024	8/2/2024	8/5/2024



		Nomination	Nomination			
Name	Form 501 Filed	Papers Issued	Papers Submitted	Qualified		
Kelly G. Cox	7/5/2024	7/15/2024	8/1/2024	8/2/2024		
George Guerra	7/30/2024	7/30/204	8/5/2024	8/7/2024		

#### FOR CITY COUNCIL DISTRICT 6 – one 4-year term ending 2028

## **INCUMBENT OFFICEHOLDERS**

The Following information regarding incumbent officeholders is posted in compliance with *California Elections Code Section 10224.5* 

Office	Incumbent Officeholder	Form 501 Filed	Nomination Papers Issued	Nomination Papers Submitted	Qualified
Chief of Police	Pat Nikolai				
City Clerk	Hosam Haggag				
Council District 1	No eligible Incumbent				
Council District 4	Kevin Park	7/12/2024	7/18/2024	8/1/2024	8/2/2024
Council District 5	Suds Jain	5/30/2024	7/18/2024	8/2/2024	8/5/2024
Council District 6	Anthony J. Becker	7/11/2024	7/18/2024	8/2/2024	8/5/2024

## **Obtaining Nomination Papers**

Individuals interested in running for office may obtain nomination papers from the Santa Clara Office of the City Clerk, 1500 Warburton Avenue, Santa Clara. Hours of operation are Monday – Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

The nomination period for these offices began at 8:00 a.m. on Monday, July 15, 2024 and will close at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, August 9. However, if an incumbent does not file by the close of the nomination period of August 9, 2024, the deadline will be extended to August 14, 2024 at 5:00 p.m.

Candidates for Chief of Police and City Clerk must be registered voters and reside in the City of Santa Clara. Candidates for City Councilmember Districts 1, 4, 5, and 6 must be registered voters and reside within their respective Council District.